faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-07-19 :: Aquakek

.:*Under MY Sea*:.

Style
It�s a lisdesign template, with what I assume to be some pop singer on the top. It�s the perfect color (aqua, duh) though I�d love to see some water-themed picture instead (I don�t know if lisdesigns would mind your replacing it). Excellent link list on the left, with the bio page I so desire readily available (though it�s a damn short bio). I can see why past reviewers gave you shit for the dating oddities, but I liked it�iconoclasm doesn�t bother me, as long as you explain it.

Substance
Anyway, I think you�ve let other reviews worry you too much. Your diary is yours- yes, it�s for others to read, but it represents you as an individual. Of course, none of this applies to this review, which you should take extremely seriously (haha).

Your entries are�short. Brief. Abridged. Concise. And, unfortunately, you don�t tell me very much. I have to wonder if you actually like keeping a diary. You have exquisite grammar for a 13yo (!!!) but your diary simply needs more content. A slightly longer entry like thisproves that when you write more, you write better. I�d be fascinated to hear about the world of a smart girl entering adolescence in 2003�you have a unique perspective and huge potential audience�if you write something for us to read!

Suggestions
OK, as Wise Ms. Lovejoy I take great pride in my ability to really teach people, and hopefully help them improve their work. So I gave great thought to what you should do, and had a brainstorm. Since your main complaint is not having anything/knowing what to talk about, you should start doing all those collaborative things like the Friday five, this-or-that Tuesdays or Monday Madness. Your entry from the If project is a perfect example, as probably my favorite entry. Writing prompts work well for you�you do have talent, and just need to write about something. Every entry should have a subject, a reason for being�answer a question you�ve thought of, tell a funny story from the day, tell a story from your childhood, whatever. Also, I�d change the image if possible, or at least explain whom the picture is of and why you like her music(?). Ooo, and one more thing�if you�re going to write short entries (which is a refreshing change, believe me) maybe you should consider switching to blog style? Just an idea.

B-
Good, and you can do better. Start by doing more and soon you�ll have the rousing success you so rightly deserve.

Jessica Lovejoy