faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-09-20 :: Iwish727

Wishing doesn't get you anywhere

Style
Yeah, so it�s taken awhile to do this review- which is particularly ironic because there is so little to kvetch about.
I don�t know how nice and clean this template (from the now-defunct lisdesign) appears on other monitors, but on my Spirit o� 95 �vintage� classic, it looks great. I�d up the font if you want anyone farsighted to read this�though maybe you don�t, in case Mom is surfing around. (Speaking of which, are you sure it�s a good idea to give so much biographical info? You could be asking for trouble, specifically from those middle aged stalkers-to-be who just love15 year old chicks. Seriously. Thank goodness you at least leave off your last name!) Anywho, love the pink that dominates this layout, more vibrant than salmon, more subdued than fuschia. Excellent collection of links, with 100 Things, an about me page, clear prev/next buttons�the rest of Dlandia could learn a thing or two from this template. I even checked out the review site you work for�and, well, you�re waaaay too good for them. I�m not just saying that because they�ve ripped off diaryreview�s point system and our grading system. I�m saying it because you�re so good, you deserve a better outlet for your talents. In fact, if you were a few years older, I�d invite you to join us�but enough about that. Hehheh.

Finally- is that picture you? No? Well, goddamnit, it should be. I doubt lis would mind, since they�re �awol,� and you could easily upload a clever photo of yourself, tint it matching pink and�shazaam! Your template would be totally unique and all your own. Think it over.

Substance
Looking into my crystal ball (a.k.a. my brain), I have wonderful news for you-- fast forward 5 years and not only will you be successful, confident, competent and hot as hell, you�ll also be really, really happy. That is, after all, the future of every smart young woman who sees through adolescence�s bull. As I�ve said in many past reviews, an intelligent, alienated teenager (Daria is the classic example) has only good in front of them�while their prissy, �popular� peers can look forward to multiple unhappy marriages, fading beauty and unfulfilling, shitty jobs. Sucks for them, huh?

Of course, your politics confuse the hell out of me, but maybe we should carry on that conversation outside of the review arena. In a nutshell, my experience has been that only about 20% of smart people are conservative, and for them it�s usually economic concerns. In my broad travels, I�ve yet to meet an intelligent person who�s socially conservative, and it seems that you fit in the former (economic) group as well (for example, you�re pro-choice, and don�t discriminate based on sexual preference). Which leads me to the obvious question-- have you looked into libertarianism? Because you really, really should. They're not my cup o' tea, but they're certainly head and shoulders above the Christian Coalition and it's political frontman, the GOP. Finally, your professed hatred of the �liberalistic [sic] media� just baffles me. What media are you referring to? The one from a decade ago? Have you never heard of Fox?

Ahem. Back to the substance issue�you write well, with none of the grammatical imbecility that so pollutes Dland. You write passionately- never lapsing into tedious enumeration of your activities- but without degenerating into just another foul mouthed ranter. Congrats! If anything, I wish you�d lean a bit more towards the ranting, since your best entries are the most pissy ones. But that�s just me.

Suggestions
In fact, the only thing keeping you from receiving the oh-so-elusive A is, well, that ol� humbug, confidence. I�m not referring to some �Do I look fat in these pants?� lameass, girly-girl �insecurity��you�re clearly above such crap. I�m more concerned with your confidence as a diarist. Please, take this not as criticism, but as encouragement, or- better yet- as goading, like a quick crop to the rump of my horsey (heh). Even if it means writing about how you believe Dubya to be a clever, compassionate man (groans), go for it. Whatever gets you riled, that should be your constant, consistent focus. I want you to take it up the proverbial notch; and I only care because you are so talented and can kick so much ass.

A-
Scratch that: you already do kick ass. But I bet you could kick it even more.

Jessica Lovejoy