faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-07-15 :: Sylvan Tyger

The Thoughts of the Sylvan Tyger

Style
A neat little layout from the now-defunct femme designs. The word �sweet� comes to mind, with cartoon cherries and pink, pink, pink. The font looks great when there are individual lines with lots of space in between, but reading thick, pink paragraphs is nearly impossible. You�ve got two, very different looking Weather pixies, which I assume represent the two important locations in your life�a clever idea, though you should explain it clearly. (Are both pictures of you? If so, I love it.) Also, seeing the imood �useless� over and over left a bad taste in my mouth�someone so cherry sexy shouldn�t be insecure.

Substance
It�s hard to get a handle on�a total hodgepodge, with quizzes, semi-fiction, and life updates. I think you�re right to start a separate dream diary, since reading about dreams can get very tedious in a stranger�s journal. I like the entries where you are thoughtful, introspective and poetic, like your first entry. It seems like you�re hovering between embracing the public aspect of diary-exhibitionism and keeping things esoterically private, obscure. I wish you�d be more clear when you�re being personal, give me some narrative specifics to hold onto.

Suggestions
That font killed me when I got to big paragraphs- either change it, or stick to lots of spacing. I�d love a biography or some basic personal information�maybe just a paragraph in your profile. As for the prose, remember that a stranger is reading it. Talk directly to your audience. You�ve got a fine authorial voice, so let�s hear it!

B+
Because when you do it well, you do it very well�but you should do it more often.

before�::�after
�archives �cliques �about �g-bk �design �dland