faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-09-17 :: Fearlessj10

I need to find me

Style
Oh the horrors! First things go first: the only browser your diary works in is Internet Explorer for the PC. This is the case because your code is such that it isn't supposed to work in any browser at all. IE for PC must have some sympathy. But I don't. I searched for ten minutes for your links (you know, to the profile, to the archives, plus the forward and backward options), and discovered that they are (atrociously) the same damn color as your background. Of all ridiculous things. I'm disappointed in myself for searching for so long, in fact. Every link, throughout the site, is invisible for 40% (at least) of your audience. For your HTML problems, you'll have to talk to Jon. He's cool like that. [yeah, that div with the beige background has a height of 20 pixels. You might just want to remove the height attribute and let the div flex with your content. -Jon]

Substance
Your latest entry, about the guiles of your all girl catholic school, is actually well-expressed. You occasionally impress me with your articulate, thorough diatribes, so I know that you've got some talent. For a fifteen year-old, your skillful construction of sentences is admirable, really. Develop that, yeah? I can't comment extensively, because I can only find your entries from September 1, 2003. Are the others hiding somewhere? I have no time to roll my mouse over every centimeter of your site, looking for links that are the same color as the background.

You're not always careful with your spelling, and you make some unnecessary mistakes, but I am delighted that you do, indeed, know the difference between "its" and "it's," as well as where to put an apostrophe in a contraction. The morons who are thirty and still cannot discern these nuances of language should be ashamed. And you should be proud of yourself.

Suggestions
So, you say, commenting on one of your reviews, "another person who didn't like my template. It fits me however so I graciously accept the decline in points...a full content score is the only thing I'm looking for. I write to write, not so that it looks good." No need to be snippy here: your shoddy template interferes with my ability to appreciate your writing. It's like turning in a brilliant paper on a shredded piece of toilet paper. Fix the spelling mistakes and typos, by writing more carefully. Use the right words ("self-consciensence" is interesting, but incorrect). Change your dreadful template! There's nothing wrong with the image, if it suits you, but this HTML nightmare must end.

C
I'm not separating form from content.

Emily