faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-10-29 :: Kellybutton

everyone has their kryptonite.

Style
I kept coming back to this diary, meaning to review it, even writing a rough draft, but just NOT DOING IT. Apologies. The most ridiculous part is, this is a great friggin diary and in need of little constructive criticism.

The layout has changed every time I�ve come by too; I know the first one was that blue ankh template that I see on tons of diaries, then it was with a picture of�someone, I don�t remember. Anyway, you keep picking better and better ones- I really dig this one, by catching stars. Gray-pink with squares, simple and neat but not overly geometric like some Malevich painting, which would be too distracting. No, this is calm. It�s like stationery.
Which is basically the whole idea, no?

Substance
You write well. You�re amusing. You�re smart. What more could a reader ask for? Well, more, to begin with. You have so many entries that are just a few lines, which is fine in and of itself, but instead of pithy it can come off as unfinished. A new reader would need to put in a lot of time and effort to find out how smart and cool you are because they'd have to read 50 itsy-bitsy entries. Grr.
Maybe it�d be better in blog form? (Especially since there are a lot of entries, just each separate from the other.) Or maybe you could just give me more? Yeah, let�s go with that one. More.

I get the �self-esteem issues� vibe here, too. I swear, it�s the craziest fucking thing- so many diarist chicks, the ones who are the most intelligent and clever and great, are the ones haunted by self-doubt; meanwhile, all these dipshit empty-headed gigglefucks feel just FINE about themselves. Oy.
For example, this has got to be the most disconcerting thing I�ve read in a loooong time. Especially when it follows this. Sweetheart, I love your breasts, and you know why? �Cause I bet they can make you really damn happy when "loved" well, and that's what our bodies are for-- feeling good.

Seriously, you have a natural voice as a writer and yet there's so much kvetching about yourself. Your heading, �proud and strong and hopefully hopeful� gives me hope that in real life you�re actually a really tough bitch who loves herself completely and this is just a place to vent.
Ooo, and I just saw you�re picture, and you�re so cute! And blonde! With little spectacles!

Suggestions
Give me more. Write at least a paragraph at least � of the time. The real problem is just having to click prev/next constantly if I want to read more than a tidbit of you at once. It�s like you�re a�tease.
Oh, and get yourself a comfortable bra and love your body. Believe me, I�m sure plenty of other people already do, if only from afar.
Finally, good luck with the whole boys thing. They can be a pain in the ass, and really can�t be trusted to bring us anything resembling joy� hey, that�s what vibrators are for.

A-
Gimme some mo� and I�ll up you to an A.

Jessica Lovejoy
with assistance from lai