faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-07-16 :: Kentraine

to dream is to be



Style
This layout is absolutely wonderful: sassy, spirited, and matter-of-fact. The white background and black font are easy on the eyes and makes for a tidy diary. All of the basics are available (the forward and backward arrows, new, older, notes, profile, guestbook, email). You also have included some extras (rings, quotes, dreams, politics, and wishlist). If you scroll midway down the page, you even have some suggested diaries one can read, plus you usually plug another diary at the end of each entry. This is also your original design, which earns extra brownie points in my book.

Substance
I immediately checked the profile page to see how many entries you have written (well over 300) and then I checked the archives page to see neatly archived entries back to January 2002. You are a faithful writer. As I began reading your latest entry, the one thing that stood out immediately for me is that you reveal your soul in your writing and you aren't afraid to say the things that some people chase around the page and usually never completely say. I love the quick one-liners and the smaller paragraphs. I also like how you break your pages up into smaller sections. In today's hi-tech, low-attention-span world, I am sure this draws more readers to your site and keeps them coming back. You are witty, articulate, and have some of the better grammar skills I have seen online. After reading several entries, I am able to grasp your frustrations, your joys, and your sufferings. Your writing style is what I call in-your-face writing, not overly angry or rantish, but definitely upfront and personal.

Suggestions
There really isn't a lot I can suggest. I would like to see maybe an "About" page that gives your readers an idea of who you are and what you are about without them having to read several entries to figure it out.

A
Since there is always room for improvement, I cannot give you an A+; however, since I didn't find any major errors, you definitely deserve the A. You have a wonderful voice and you use it well.

Ravyne