faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-08-05 :: Poppyfish

Hello, My Name Is Poppy

Style
Well, since this review has taken so damned long (apologies!) I can�t really fault you for changing the layout mid-way (especially since you say it�s a weekly thang). I was sad to see the other one go, as I�d clapped with glee over those cute Gorey-esque cartoons. But now�well, damn, I like this one too. Probably in part because�I look just like you. (excepting the height and big pouty lips, but hey.) Actually, I think a lot of us diarist-femmes look like that cartoon�and I love it. Overall, this is just a great layout- organized, neat, clear�plus plenty of other laudatory adjectives. Well done. Oooo, but that font. Tiny fonts kill me every time. Could you make it more legible without destroying the rest of the great layout? Could you? Huh? Huh?

Substance
There�s a reason you�re popular. You write good stuff, goddamnit, and the rest of the journaling world would do well to follow your example. You write a lot too�almost too much for me to get a firm grip on. Er�yeah, that�s my excuse. Heh.
Seriously, though�if it wasn�t for that damned font I�d have read a lot more. Really, really good stuff here, everything from 80s rednecks to How to Handle Hatred of Poppy to masturbatory Teletubbies. Plus lots and lots of talk about your virginity. I swear, I�m about ready to fuck you myself at this point. And I love the way you title these, with an �&� each and every time. You�ve got the diarist thang down, girl. Down.

Suggestions
Ergh, the font. That�s my main concern. As usual, I�d like a bio page, and maybe an explanation of your username. Or not. I mean, I think you�ve got a good thing going here, and who the hell am I to suggest anything. Oh yeah, Ms. Lovejoy, that�s right. And so, as the all-knowing Mistress of Sophistry, I give you a big, fat, stinkin�...

A
First goddamned �A� I�ve ever given. Congrats.

Jessica Lovejoy