faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-11-22 :: preciousroy

You give me little heart attacks

Style

The template is the scrollable window in the regular browser window type. There is a link preciousroy's other webpage which is somewhat boring, like a sleepover with smores. To the left you will notice a picture of some legs, which only slightly arouses pedophilia in the audience. Whose legs are these? Do they know that their legs are out there in the vastness of cyberspace being looked at? The template seems to mimic the retroness of the 50's while the substance lacks the subtle hostility all through that period. Humorously there is a plea for the diary to be reviewed by this very diary reviewing website. Nothing makes this diary jump out if you were just blowing through looking for interesting diaries, you might have to read it to get a better idea. All through the diary there is no capitalizing, like an active assault against that convention of capitalizing proper nouns, beginnings of sentences, and the pronoun "I". I am not sure if the author has a strict adherence to some code that relegates capitizing to religious ceremonies or if it is a true opposition to capitalizing anything or, and I think the real reason, the author is just too lazy to capitalize. Grade: C-, Common template and capitalizing is the rule, not a choice.



Substance

Preciousroy is a young teenage girl in Wisconsin, struggling with the paramount of teenage concerns: love, arguing with parents, and the dynamics of friendship. There are a little more than two hundred entries, all of which I read, and I only found one that drew me out into feeling anything, the one called Lizzy. I like this entry because it has something other than the monotony of "XXXX doesn't like me"and "I hate XXXX". This one entry is the author's attempt to reach in the future and see herself for what she is seen as and during her reaching she barely scratches the deep determinist nature of her existence. Just as she is about to pluck that ripe fruit she lets it go because she feels she is "..digging my hole deeper by writing this".

Something that really got me was the feeling of innocence I got from reading this diary. It may not be an active exercise but it seems that the author paints herself in the passive colors of innocence and victimhood. She is the one being wronged, she wants to strive forward, past the dirt that is her past, but no one else wants to let it go. I might be reading into it too much but I suspect it is there, what do you see?

There doesn't seem to be anything of meaning in this, it can't help but wallow in stressful life that the author lives. From reading the entries you would think she is just sad and depressed all the time, but this is not the case because she loves some guy, James. She is never able to get these feelings across to this reader, although sadness does seem to come through clear. What else is in your life? Grade: C-, It drowns in the complaining of all kids her age, make me interested.



Suggestions

I want you to reach in that big brain of yours and drag out your feelings. Pull them kicking and screaming to the front of your thoughts, Gandhi says that intense introspection is probably good, of course I am paraphrasing. Tell us why you do what you do, give us an idea of the reasons you have for being the way you are. This is your forum to speak your thoughts, so why aren't they here?



C-

Tear down the fourth wall and let us in your head.



Socriel