faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-09-23 :: waycoolmama

The Dronings-On of a Single Mom

Style
Ok, the one thing that overrides everything else on this page is the horrible mouse-following javascript word. Aagh!

It doesn't help much that the word is "schlong". Though it does help a little.

The layout is simple, new-agey, not so many rings at the bottom that you have to have a separate rings page. All the links work fine.

A fun game is to try to highlight the "schlong" without highlighting anything else on the page.

Substance
The javascript animation is partly (a small part) compensated for the the really cool picture on your newest entry. This diary is starting to grow on me. Maybe Ms. Lovejoy is right and I really will be the "nice reviewer" here at MLR.

You have an engaging style of writing and a great feel for what I call "flow". There were few enough entries that I read all of them, and I enjoyed them immensely. Funny and entertaining.

I'm sorry about your teeth. And about psycho-dad. Umm, what do you do for a living? I'm guessing it's something squirrelx-ish because there's one extremely brief reference to "doing a reading" for someone. Or maybe you're a freelance meter reader? There's a later mention of a boss, so maybe not.

Always leave the reader wanting more.

Suggestions
Nutrasweet is the Devil. Lose the Javascript tag-along, it makes me want to staple my eyelids together.

B+
That's a C- for style and an A for substance.

jerrbear