faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-09-28 :: mochadreamz

I kick ass!

Style
Your template by Saucy Designs is pretty cool. The graphics are simple, yet classy and everything is very easy to read. You have all the obligatory links, and as far as I could tell they all worked. The only thing I can really say is that I didn�t like your tagboard being below your diary entry box. It made the page a little lopsided. Maybe if it were positioned to the right of the entry box it would look a lot better, but that�s only my opinion. Overall, I think the designers for your template did a great job. The only way it could be better would be if you designed your own site!

Substance
Ok� I have some mixed feelings about the substance of your diary. I realize that you�re fourteen years old, and when the moon is right and the planets are aligned, I can look back into the far away past and remember life when I was fourteen too. And knowing you�re fourteen, I actually have to say that you possess quite a bit of writing potential. And fortunately for you, you found a reviewer that can read slang and Ebonics rather easily. Unfortunately, I found the translation process to be rather tedious and boring. But I will explain...

Now, it�s your diary so you can write what you want, but you also asked for my opinion and so I�ll give it to you. I was impressed at how well you were able to express yourself even though your grammar needs work and there was a whole lotta� slang and Ebonics. But the biggest problem I had was that your entries were very monotonous. From beginning to end, most of them consisted of meanderings about boys and superstars and talkin� to your homies. Yes, I know this is an important part of a teenage girl�s life. And (as I have stated in many a review) there is nothing wrong about writing about these things. It is the style with which you write that matters, however. You need some flair and panache! If your diary was a meal, I would say it was in dire need of a good garlic, extra virgin olive oil, and cilantro saut�.

Let me help you out a bit. In this entry here you mention that you finished the book �The Once and Future King.� I was really hoping that you were going to offer your thoughts on this wonderful book, but you drop the subject to talk about stalking Lil� Bow Wow. If you would only have given your opinions on the book, you would have had captured me as a reader. Instead, I quickly skipped over the page.

In this entry you mention some graphics you produced and a contest you entered. So why didn�t you show your readers the graphic and mention more about the contest? What was the contest for; what would the winner receive? These are the things I was really hoping for. Details, my dear. All I�m asking for is some details. This entry had more potential than the rest. At the end, you began to give your thoughts and opinions on why you don�t believe in best friends. I found this to be very refreshing to read, not only because it was a break from the norm, but that you were expressing a heart felt opinion about a topic that touches you personally. I really wish more of your entries were like this one. But it does show me you are able to reach deep down and pull out some good topics.

Suggestions
For your template, think about moving your tagboard to the right of your entry box. For your diary, try dropping the slang and Ebonics for a while and see if you can write some interesting entries that are grammatically correct and easy to understand. After you master those basics, then go crazy and I�m sure your style will really rock our socks. I am confident that you would have more readers if your diary were easier to understand and offered more than mediocre substance.

C-/C
B for style, D+ for substance� another diary of unlocked potential.

Justin