faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-08-14 :: rayofmemory

Rayofmemory

Style

It took me a while to review this diary, mostly because we've been sorting the internet thing out after having moved, and during that time, you went through at least three different layouts. I'm only glad you got rid of the pink on pink. That one hurt my eyes. The template you have now is okay. There's nothing wrong with it: it's neat enough; the image is nice in a non-descript, inoffensive way; the links all seem to work. It does not, however, stand out. Another thing, "Seaside Sunset" is an appropriate title for the the template considering the image and colors; i'm not sure, though, that it's appropriate given the content of your diary.



Substance

Okay, I was really hoping to be blown away by your diary. The name you chose struck me as reflective, and I was really hoping to read an insightful and philosophical diary, if, perhaps, an unhappy one. I was not impressed.

You are clearly intelligent, and a solid writer. There are some typos and errors, but, surprisingly, they didn't bug me too much. Your skills, though, are no better than i'd expect them to be, and unfortunately, what you write about is often too vague to be interesting for someone who doesn't know you. I was interested in your discussion (right at the beginning of your diary) about depression, which also really disturbed me. Some of the links within entries, for example the one about "wouing", didn't work, and left me wondering what you were talking about.

I was refreshed to read the entries when you were happy, but those were too few and far between. I'm not suggesting that you need to change who you are, but something about the voice you adopt when you're depressed is really difficult to read.



Suggestions

Okay, now for the hard part. Judging by your style, you write primarily for a group of people who know you, so I'm left wondering if an external review is really what you need or want. You have way too many entries for a reviewer to read -- I read forty, and, really, I'm not sure if I read your best stuff or not; you might, then, want to suggest to reviewers that they read certain entries, your best ones or the ones you feel are more reflective of you. Apart from that, it's much more reader-friendly if you're specific, and specificity in general can only help your writing.



C+

Sorry it took me so long. As I said in another review, I'm picky, particularly when I'm disappointed. The grade is mostly based on the content of the entries I read, which, as I said earlier, left something to be desired.



Ms. M.