faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-07-31 :: lealoo

LeaLoo

Style
I really appreciate the neat lines and simplicity of your layout; it was nice to look at a main page that wasn�t cluttered by random links and images. I also noticed that you created it yourself: kudos for that. That said, I really hate yellow, and, well, your layout has a lot of yellow on it. No marks off for that, though, being as it�s simply a matter of taste, and yours and mine clash in the color department. Your link buttons are really original, but it did take me a couple of minutes to figure out what they were (apart from reproductions of paintings). The only real problem I noticed with the physical aspect of your diary is that the background color for your entry doesn�t exactly line up with the darker blue on either side. You�ve noticed the problem, though, and good luck figuring it out.

Substance
I am, in general, not a fan of daily logs, but your sense of humor and your voice, an example of which is here , kept me from being totally bored. You seem to have a very engaging personality. I greatly appreciate that you�re conscious of your readers, and clearly you satisfy quite a few readers. This provided a nice change for me and was one of your best entries. I really hate reading mediocre (or bad) poetry, even when you intend it as a joke. Fortunately I only came across a few entries containing that; however, it detracts from your diary.

I know this is going to seem like a really trivial thing to you, and I know that you�re aware of it already, but there are way too many spelling errors and typos, particularly in your earlier entries. I was distracted and annoyed by them. Also, you get a little too choppy in places. In your shit for brains entry, you start with a really amusing theory about the origins of S.A.D.; however, you left it hanging (and me wondering if, in fact, you suffer from S.A.D. and what the point of the story was).
Finally, I appreciate that your diary isn�t full of teenage angst, and I found that really refreshing.

Suggestions
Please, keep the cat and child pictures coming. I thought those were so cute. You might also want to branch away from the daily log thing more often (although I understand that that�s the format you choose) with stories or with some of the collaborative efforts out there (for example, This or That Fridays), and let yourself write (and elaborate on what you write) more freely. Finally, keep letting your humor shine through; it�s one of your best qualities.

B
It was nearly a B+; however, I�m picky, and you needed to hook me for a higher grade.

target= newThe Divine Ms. M.