faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-08-25 :: ronsart.silverwood-forest.com

Little Pieces of Me

Style
While I'm not a huge fan of purple on black, I feel compelled to congratulate you on your self-made layout. This site is a clear example of navigation and organization at its best. The author has a calendar, with linked numbers to the days on which she wrote entries. Everything is aligned. There is no extraneous crap to throw off the symmetry. The only thing missing is a link to your profile. And, content-wise, there doesn't seem to be a page that serves as a home to some condensed detailed information about you. I'm a big sucker for those things.

Substance
This diary is intensely boring. I hope it is entertaining to the authoress, because I cannot imagine anyone else being even remotely interested. You mention, often, that you "aren't going to whine about your job anymore," but almost every entry is dedicated to precisely that. Don't get me wrong: I bitch about my job a lot, too. But in order to pull this off in a way that isn't just gratuitous whining, you've got to be a little more insightful. And whenever you find yourself typing "I'm not going to go into details," think twice. I don't mean that you need to detail the precise circumstances of that day's drama; rather, try to take yourself to a higher level of critique. Be funny. Be ironic. Make sweeping statements about human nature, using your co-workers as examples. Do something other than drudgingly type out the day's events. On August 21, 2003, you mention an amusing phone call. Go with that. Imagine the implications of such a thing. As it is, most of your entries are either "recaps" or "gripes" which are dreadfully mundane and boring. While the sentences you write are in no way creative, you get credit for having decent grammatical skills.

Suggestions
Your diary covers a long span of time, but there aren't many entries, at all. You mention that you have had a Diaryland diary for three years, so I visited that site. I can't find any Archives organization, and I'm not inclined to read every one of them. And almost all of your entries are macroscopic adumbrations of boring events. I know your life can't be this boring. The closest you come to something interesting is in December, 2001. It has been a while. Check out that month, where you formulate some sort of opinions, and start from there.



D
Aside from the brilliant layout, there isn't much substance to be found in this neck of the forest.

Emily