faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-07-19 :: veronica--

Veronica--

Style
As editrix, dominatrix, and resident control-freak at Ms. Lovejoy�s I get the honor of first choice among the diaries to review. I chose yours because, clicking on it, I squealed with delight to see that fade-in (my favorite of all the entry effects) and long list of links on the left. The layout is�sparse to say the least, but that sparseness works in your favor. I�ve seen a lot of diaries that are ruined by an unintelligible font, but yours looks great. But, then I realized, where are the before & after buttons?! I had to constantly return to the archives pages, just to read another entry! AARGH! I was so totally loving your site, and then this ruined it.
Also, I�d match the font of your entry title to the rest of the font, change the blah Dland button (maybe make your own?) and�uh�that�s it. So it's just the before/after! Previous/next! Argh! Get them now!

Substance
Oh, dear, there�s so much I want to say to you�and, since I really like your writing, I�ll be back to fill up your guestbook with further loud-mouthiness (lucky you, harhar). I want to step through the monitor and be your best friend. Sometimes I feel like I�m watching a train wreck, with this smart, beautiful (and tiny) girl destroying her body. Sometimes it�s like a flashback to my own tortured post-adolescence. Sometimes it�s excruciating, seeing a coolass chick get so down on herself, or care so much about some guy�s opinion. I had to keep reminding myself of your age�you write like an adult, but insecurity and depression are a lot more understandable for a 17-year-old than in someone my age. Still, I kept reading, far beyond the usual (large) number of entries I�d look at for a review�and all this, in spite of the fact that changing entries was such a hassle! You�re good�I just wish you knew how good you are.

Suggestions
Put the goddamn prev and next things in your template. Like, now. I can�t stress this enough (though obviously I�m trying). Otherwise, my suggestions are more of the metaphysical variety: love yourself, be happy, and most of all, be patient. I can assure you, as someone who has been there, your 20s will fucking rock, especially if you�re in school. (College is not like high school- it�s a party with people you can relate to, and a widening of your intellectual world to boot.) But this is pretty universal advice. Oh, and never do heroin- trust me, it ruins your skin.

B+
With the addition of prev/next, I�d change it to A-. With a little more appreciation of your own coolness, you could even get an A. So, get to it, and feel free to come back for another review.

(On closer inspection, yes, there are prev/next links, though they're veeeeerry small. My bad.)

Jessica Lovejoy