faery-lights - 2004-03-12
curiosekwe - 2004-02-10
splash-girl - 2004-01-09
shaynasanerd - 2003-12-24
poetgrl224 - 2003-11-30
2003-07-19 :: Wakko101

wakko's wanderings

Style
At first glance, it�s very neat and clean- I love the orderly links on top and side. As I read, though, my eyes started glazing over from the tight, serif-fonted, white on black lines. I don�t know, maybe it�s the size, because the color scheme really should work. Also, maybe it�s because of the weblog style, or maybe it�s the layout, but the long entries were often difficult to read through�in the midst of scrolling I easily lost my place. And then, it seemed to switch to 1 entry per page style, which confused me). Anyway, the white/black/yellow is clearly your signature, and the picture on top is a great addition. Best of all, I already know something about you before I even start reading. Your form fits your content�and isn�t that the whole point?

Substance
Without an archives page I wasn�t able to read your first entries, but it seems like you�ve gotten better, like you�re getting into the �swing� of weblogging. This is the best kind of entry, where you take an idea and expound on it. I think you�re absolutely right here (on the 8th), discussing webloggers who �have no life,� and here about being funny. But I also think you�re giving yourself too little credit�you can be the kind of hilarious web goddess you want to be. I just want you to write to me, the total stranger who has stumbled upon your site. Link me to an About You page (this is my universal advice) and give me something to hold onto while reading. That�s why the entry about Pump up the Volume works so well- you give the context of your life and discuss things of universal experience. After all, a diary is about two people- you, and the audience. Even the most seemingly bland and boring topics can be fascinating when told by a strong, unique voice.

Suggestions
You need an archives page, so I could find stuff besides just pushing �prev� over and over (sort of the opposite of my previous reviewee�s problem). Also, I assume it�s a product of the dland-weblog setup, but your �Latest:� list links point to the same pages (click them, you�ll see what I mean). Alternate between short entries to plug links and stuff, and longer entries to discuss an interesting subject�but very long entries get unbearable in a weblog. Finally, since you don�t update everyday, I have to wonder how much you like keeping the diary�regular readers will want to see you regularly!

B
I have a feeling that, if you keep this up for another couple of months, things will get much better. So keep at it! I�ll be watching you... (*cackling wildly*)

Jessica Lovejoy